OSA Niño Logo


Augustinians to turnover Nuestra Señora de Gracia Parish to Manila Archdiocese

Nuestra de Gracia Parish

After more than 50 years of being recalled to administer the Parish of Nuestra Señora de Gracia in Makati City, the Augustinians will now turn it over to the Archdiocese of Manila, who will continue the pastoral care in Barangay Guadalupe Viejo, Makati City.

The turnover will happen on Sunday, 16 June 2024, and it will be highlighted by the celebration of the Holy Eucharist and a symbolic turnover rites. 

In addition to handing over the Parish to the Archdiocese, the Monasterio de Guadalupe Community, a domus formata or religious house of the Order of Saint Augustine (OSA) and at the same time a seminary for late vocations will also be ceded. Prior General of the Order of Saint Augustine Very Rev. Fr. Alejandro Moral Anton, OSA also formally approved the dissolution of the community effective on the same day. 

The turnover marks a significant change in the structure and operations of the Monasterio de Guadalupe Community and the Nuestra Señora de Gracia Parish. 

Before the friars returned to Makati in 1970, the Augustinians left the Monastery and the Church in ruins due to earthquakes and wars and eventually sold the lot to the Archdiocese. 

The Augustinians founded the monastery and the church in 1601, and they remained until the Philippine Revolution. 

Upon their return, they reconstructed the church as a parish and rebuilt the monastery after nearly 75 years since they left. 

Rev. Fr. Aimark Asor, OSA, the current and last Augustinian Parish Priest of Nuestra Señora de Gracia Parish, will formally hand over the administration to Rev. Fr. Joselito R. Martin, the incoming Parish Priest with Rev. Fr. Jose Francisco C. Syquia as Parochial Vicar.

Transition works will continue until 1 August 2024, when the new Parish Priest will formally take over as mandated by His Eminence Jose Cardinal Advincula, D.D., Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Manila. (GPL)


More Updates

Send Us A Message

© All Rights Reserved 2023 | Province of Santo Niño de Cebu - Philippines