OSA Niño Logo


Basilica celebrates 58th anniv of dedication

Basilica58th Anniv

Today, February 28, 2023, we celebrate the 58th Anniversary of the Consecration/Dedication of the erstwhile San Agustin Church of Cebu City, now known as the Basilica Minore del Santo Niño de Cebu (BMSN).

A eucharistic celebration was presided over by Most Rev. Ruben Labajo, D.D., Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu, and was concelebrated by the Augustinian Friars of the Province of Sto. Niño de Cebu- Philippines and some of Cebu’s clergy.

On this day in 1965, Most Rev. Julio Cardinal Rosales, D.D., then Archbishop of Cebu, re-dedicated the church after the 1964 extensive renovation in view of its elevation as ‘Basilica Minore’ on that same year in April. The altar was solemnly consecrated and deposited in it are the relics of the Martyrs- Saints Reparatus and Vitalis.


More Updates

Send Us A Message

© All Rights Reserved 2023 | Province of Santo Niño de Cebu - Philippines