OSA Niño Logo


Five deacons ordained to priesthood at Basilica

Five deacons ordained

In a solemn ceremony, five deacons from the Province of Santo Niño de Cebu – Philippines were ordained to the priesthood at the Basilica Minore del Santo Niño de Cebu. The ordination took place on May 13, 2023, marking a significant milestone in their religious journeys.

The newly ordained priests are Fr. Ariel A. Panimdim, OSA, from Digos, Davao del Sur; Fr. Anacleto M. Morales III, OSA, from Isabela, Negros Occidental; Fr. James Carlo M. Atienza, OSA, from San Pedro, Laguna; Fr. Jan Mark A. Placido, OSA, from Sto. Tomas, Davao de Norte; and Fr. Ronnel Ian M. Garcia, OSA, from Gubat, Sorsogon.

the newly ordained with the Augustinians friars
The newly ordained priests with the Augustinians friars

Rev. Fr. Andres D. Rivera, Jr.,OSA the Prior Provincial, proudly presented the candidates before Most Rev. Midyphil Bermejo Billones, D.D., the Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu, who presided over the Mass and the rite of ordination.

During his homily, Bishop Billones emphasized the sacred calling of the priesthood and reminded the ordinands of the profound gift they were receiving. He encouraged them to remember that Jesus chose them first, loved them first, and called them to serve His people with their unique selves, regardless of their imperfections or strengths.

The ordination ceremony was a joyful occasion witnessed by the families and friends of the newly ordained priests. Following the ordination, the priests will return to their respective assignments and begin fulfilling their priestly ministries, diligently tending to the pastoral needs of the faithful.

Deacons ordained


More Updates

Send Us A Message

© All Rights Reserved 2023 | Province of Santo Niño de Cebu - Philippines